Quiet noise

It was 2:00 in the afternoon and the house was still. One baby slept in the room down the hall, another baby slept in the next room.

Outside there were a few muffled noises from traffic in the distance – not invasive, just the sort that provide a hum and a rhythm.

I’m no bird person, but I could distinctly hear at least four different kinds of birds chriping and singing outside. (Mmmm… one of my favorite things about living in the tropics.)

THe dishwasher swished from the freshly cleaned kitchen.

The dryer tossed and sent out occasional cracks of noise from a zipper clinking the metal.

All around was a glorious stillness and quiet in the gentle, loud din of life sounds.

Quiet noise. That’s all.

That beautiful space void of television or voices or crying… even music.

Just the sounds of house and home and the world spinning by outside.

Sun peeked through the window and a slight breeze shifted the curtains.

The to-do list lay face-down on the coffee table and hte computer screen remained shut.

I stretched out the entire length of hte couch to reflect and breathe and be, trying desperately to shut out the noise of my own mind…

And an hour later I woke up.

STOP.

 

Q for you: When’s the last time you enjoyed some quiet noise?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited.
Adriel also writes (using spell check!) on motherhood and parenting at The Mommyhood Memos

About Adriel Booker

Writer. Speaker. Difference-Maker. I live Down Under with my love and littles where we serve with YWAM and try to make the world a better place. View all posts by Adriel Booker

2 responses to “Quiet noise

  • Deanne Bullock

    Found you at Goins, Writer and had to come see for myself how your five minutes turns out. It’s fabulous! I love it!

    Speaking of quiet noise, I have a house full of kids (seven, but “only” five at home now), so often when I write I have to listen to white noise on my iPod to drown out all the hullaballoo. I enjoy thunderstorms and gurgling creeks, but my current favorite is a train and the click-CLICK of the tracks.

    But the recorded noises are nothing compared to the real life quiet noise you described. That’s why I love the early morning time and have trained my body to get up before the kids.

    • Adriel Booker

      oh wow, good on you! seven children is a lot! no doubt you’d find tricks like white noise on the ipod to help you find a quiet space.

      i love, love, love the idea of getting up early in the morning before the kids are up, but during this season of life i’ve pretty much ruled that one out. my baby still doesn’t sleep through the night – in fact, is up multiple times a night! – and i need every tiny bit of sleep i can get to be able to function with my busy toddler!! ;) so i let them be my alarm clock. it won’t always be like that, but for now it is what it is.

      i don’t have a whole lot of “quiet” around here at the moment… can’t imagine adding five more to the mix!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

