Little space, big dream

Later this year my family and I will be flying to Papua New Guinea where we’ll board the YWAM Medical ship, hole up in a small cabin, and spend a few weeks serving in villages where access to health care is limited.

Along with us will be teams of medical professionals – nurses, dentists, optomotrists, and more.

On board the ship we’ll run dental and optometry and basic health care clinics.

I haven’t been on an outreach like this in years now. Years.

To a YWAMer, that’s like slow death.

Ok, I’m being completely dramatic here. Nobody’s dying. (I’m not dying.)

But I am longing.

Longing to do what I joined this mission to do. Longing to be in the nations, helping people, helping people help themselves. Helping people to know God.

(To be fair, I’ve been doing all those things – in Australia. Just not “out there” in the developing world, which I love so dearly.)

Today we visited the Ship to look at hte rooms and decide where the best place for our little family to stay will be.

We chose a small room, where we’ll put a matress on the floor for Levi and Judah will share the bed with us. During the day, the bed folds up into the wall, leaving a small space for benches and a tiny floor area to play. (Most likely we won’t spend much non-sleeping time in there anyway.)

That little space created a lot of excitement in my heart.

Even though we’ve been planning this outreach for a long time now, today’s short visit to the Ship just made it all seem real.

This is happening.

Can’t wait.

STOP.

 

Q for you: Have you taken your family on an outreach before? Would you like to?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited

About Adriel Booker

Writer. Speaker. Difference-Maker. I live Down Under with my love and littles where we serve with YWAM and try to make the world a better place. View all posts by Adriel Booker

2 responses to “Little space, big dream

  • Rachel

    I know how you feel when you use the word ‘dying’. Longing doesn’t quite seem to cover ‘that’ desire does it? I’m really excited for you guys to get to go to PNG together as a family. (ok, I’ll admit…a little jealous). The experience your boys will have…the first hand learning of the world outside their homes and how God works there…so priceless. I know there is so much grace for families that do mission together! It’s the most awesome thing I think I ever experienced and we talk daily about how much we miss it ourselves.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

