Letting go

Day two of my ridiculous project. Or experiement. Or discipline. Or whatever I’m going to call it

I hope I don’t regret this.

Pushing “publish” on something unedited is not easy for me!! I like the craft of writing – writing and rewriting sentances. Making it better. Improving. But no chance of that here.

That’s good for me too. Learning to let go.

I bet I will learn lots of things (unesxpected things) through disicplining myself to write this way

Letting go. That’s got to be right up there at the top.

I think tomorrow i will decide what I’m going to write abotu before I sit down. At least that way it won’t feel so random. (What have I done? the thought of being boring online for all to see rubs my pride the wrong way,t hat’s for sure.)

Right now I can hear levi running around in the background “poo poo!” he’s saying. Apparently the kid is wanting to potty train himself before getting the green light from mom. In my mind, I don’t have time to potty train right now.

But I suppose there’s one thing I’ve learned in motherhood – kids rarely go according to plans and schedules. Try as I might.

And I’m okay with that – learning to be okay at least. (Again, letting go.)

January is a great time to think about the year ahead – to set new goals. I know many people don’t like resolutions, but I say rubbish. We all need a clean slate, a fresh chance at starting over every now an dhten, and turning the calendar to a new year seems to be the perfect time for that.

I have some goals fo the year ahead. But they’re still solidifying in my mind in their little categories: important, necessary, wishful thinking, realistic, faith-inspired.

Obviously I don’t like to fail, so I’m still weighing up which ones I will “adopt” as the real ones and which will stay on my “wishful thinking” shelf.

Darn timer.

STOP.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

6 responses to “Letting go

Leave a Reply

