The L word

 

As a kid I loved left-over night.

My mom would tell me what’s available, I’d draw up a menu, and then I’d happily go take orders from my dad and brother.

It was fun to play the “waitress” with my little pen and pad.

Ryan hasn’t caught on to the wonder of left-over night yet.

He groans whenever his “what’s for dinner?” is met with the L word.

He thinks leftovers are for lunch.

I, on the other hand, think leftovers are for dinner. (Anything to save me from having to cook dinner is wonderful in my books.)

I tell him that we neeeeed to have leftovers because there is no room left in the fridge for anything else.

He reluctanly agrees and eats what he’s served.

Perhaps I should try taking his order with a pen and pad and see if that makes it more fun?

STOP.

Q for you: How do you feel about leftover night? Yay or nay?

Love,
A

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

5 responses to “The L word

Leave a Reply

