The day off I didn’t have

It’s been a big week:

Babies.

Toddlers.

Growth spurts.

The big D.

Tantrums.

Hot, humid days.

Full plates.

Long lists.

Waking babies and insomniac mommies.

Emails.

Lists.

Meetings.

Responsibilities.

Good-byes.

Hellos.

Short naps. Long naps.

Fasting (out of necessity, not choice).

Did I mention the big D?

I’ve been grumpy for much of the week. Sick, tired, and grumpy… and trying not to be.

Cuz a grumpy mommy is no fun for sweet kiddos or lovely husbands.

Being sick made me lose my mothering mojo. I lost my groove. I misplaced my stellar.

I had moments of wanting to trade them in. (Shhh, don’t tell.(

But today helped turn things around.

Today Ryan watched the boys while I holed up in my office and worked. Worked all. day. long. on stuff that’s been piling up. (He even delivered an enormous sandwich – my own personal take-out – without me putting an order in.)

It was glorious.

I felt like such a grown-up, doing grown-up things and listenting to grown-up music and using my grown-up brain.

Turns out I didn’t need a day off at all.

I just needed a day… that was different from the norm.

It’s true what they say: sometimes the best vacation is change.

STOP.

 

Q for you: When is the last time you had a day of change?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

8 responses to “The day off I didn’t have

Leave a Reply

