Come on sausage

It was about ten years ago.

I hadn’t been in Austrlaia that long, but long enough that I didn’t feel like I was experienceing “culture shock” anymore.

Until one lovely Saturday afternoon……

I was downtown shopping and just in front of me on an escalator traveling up was a mother and her young son. He looked around 2 or 3 years old.

“Come on sausage” she said to the little guy as she tugged his hand to walk onto teh platform.

I was mortified. SAUSAGE? Are you kidding me?

Child abuse! Emotional child abuse!

How could this woman call her son SAUSAGE??!!! Surely he would be scarred for life. Probably end up in counselin.g

I shook my head in dismay and wished I could somehow “fix” the situation and tell the little guy that he was just perfect as-is. Definitely not fat!

To me, calling someone “sausage” was akin to calling them “porker”. Or “bacon”.

totally rude.

Totally demeaning.

And then, a few days later I heard it again.

This time it was my boss’s (lovely, Christian) wife talking to her child.

And it hit me: that was not a mother talking down to her child, that was an Australian pet name!

I couldn’t believe it!

Really? Sausage?

(Hello culture shock!)

Since then I’ve heard it a thousand times.

Just as my own mom used to call me “pumpkin” (kind of weird now that I think about it, but also totally common in America), so this term – sausage – is a common term of endearment in Australia.

So there you go (Branson).

Have you hugged your little sausage today?

STOP.

 

Q for you: What’s your favorite term of endearment?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

 

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

5 responses to “Come on sausage

Leave a Reply

