Anger management issues?

I’m not sure if it was just a post birthday crash or the Monday morning blues or just a case of waking up on teh wrong side of the bed… but this morning levi was a crazy man.

he spent most of the morning, not just in tears, but fake crying/sort-of screaming and throwing tings.

Melt down city.

Several tiems I was able to change teh situation and calm him down, but then something else would set him off again.

(Wow, just as I’m writing this I’m realizing that this is his normal teething behavior. Oooops. Didn’t even think to check his teeth. I think it’s probably time to put his amber teething necklace back on.)

[Hello tangent.]

As I watched him this morning – throwing trains, hitting the chair because he tripped on it, etc – I saw so much of myself in him.

I saw my own weaknesses, my own temper, my own raging emotions.

The only difference is I’ve learned how to control them a little better.

There’s many times where I felt like throwing my computer agains the wall, or ramming into a car that cut me off, or losing it at a customer service rep on the phone. (Or throwing my kids out the window.)

The ony thing that holds me back is my own developing maturity and self-control.

Same emotions, different response.

It helps me not to get angry at him when he’s losing it – remembering that he’s feeling the same way I often do, but just doesn’t yet have all the tools to handle or help solve the situation.

So I do my best to difuse, distract, and disciple him in how to respond when things get messed up or broken or hurt.

I’m leanring to keep my cool with him, just as he’s leanring to keep his cool with life.

And i think… maybe my kid odesn’t have anger management issues after all. Maybe he’s just having one of “those” days and needs a little more help to navigate through.

After all, I can relate to that too.

STOP.

 

Q for you: I’m not the only one who wants to throw my computer at the wall sometimes, right? Right? What helps you keep your cool when the pressure’s on?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

 

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

4 responses to “Anger management issues?

  • Greta

    Awesome perspective Adriel. I think I personally need to re-read this a few more times 🙂

  • Samantha S

    I see this in my own child. However, it is my husband made-over. How do you help him learn how to handle these situations? It’s hard for me to figure out how to guide a 16 month old in this area. And no, you’re not the only one. My husband constantly has to work at this one. Traffic and crowds really bring out the worst, but he really is working on keeping this in check! Lots of prayer at those moments!

    • Adriel Booker

      oh yes, it’s a hard age with this little ones. some of you learn by trial and error i think. i’m finding that what once worked no longer does, and what works now didn’t work then… you really have to keep adjusting to their age while still maintaining some standards and consistency. it’s a tricky tightrope to walk, that’s for sure!!

Leave a Reply

