Cricket. Snore……

I do’t have a lot of time to watch tv, even though I really enjoy it.

Often when I do have the time (in the evenings after the kiddos are n bed) I’d rather write, blog, or edit photos. Ryan will watch something and I’ll edit photos becoming absorbed in them without realy noticing the tely much.

The one time of day I really do like to watch tv is while eating my lunch.

Ellen and the View are both on from 12:00 to 2:00, so often I’m able to catch part of either one of those shows after the boys are down for their naps. (For the record, I do miss Oprah. muah.)

I figure it’s good practice for me to sit down and actually STOP while I eat, so watcing TV is a good incentive for me. If I’m not on the tely then no doubt I’ll continue flitting around the house – laundry, tidying up, cleaning the kitchen – in between bites.

Tely at lunch ensures I have a “rest”, even if it’s only a half an hour.

But some days I sit down with my lunch, flip on channel nine, and find… CRICKET.

Summer and cricket are synomomous in Australia. And channel nine is the cricket channel much to my dismay.

The problem is not that they play it, the problem is that they play it INSTEAD of the only two decent daytime tv shows that are free-to-air.

And not only that… but crickets last all day for five days.

FIVE DAYS PEOPLE.

What kind of a game is that anyway?

I call it a party pooper game.

Might as well just go finish the laundry.

 

STOP.

 

Q for you: Do you watch tv while you eat? Maybe I should use that time to read instead. Hmmmmmmm……

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

2 responses to “Cricket. Snore……

  • Nessa

    Oh man… cricket?! Really 5 days of it – how horrible.

  • Rosilind Jukic

    Oh my. I read the title and I thought you were talking about an insect, and then when I got further into the post I was reminded how our national TV broadcasts Parliament sessions. Yea – another big crowd pleaser. And they’ll interrupt what is most often nothing of value – but sometimes something I’ve planned to watch – so that we can all be blessed by boring sessions of puffed shirts who get paid 20xs more than the average worker (conservative number) to sit and blow hot air. lol!!! (ummm.. not bitter or anything…nah – not me! haha!!!!)

    But 5 days???? All day. I’d sit down and cry. That’s when the Internet and illegally uploaded TV shows come in handy. *wink*

Leave a Reply

