Move over Martha

I’ve always liked decorating.

I remember being about 10 years old and decorating my room for the first time.

My colors of choice dusty blue and mauve – teddy bears and hearts – in a “country” theme. It was the mid 80’s… country was in.

I stenciled alternating bears (blue) and hearts (mauve) around the wall near the ceiling. (Stenciling was, like, so in. Duh.)

I made little crafty wreaths with baby’s breath and ribbon flowers.

I got busy with the glue gun.

It was amazing.

Then, a few years later I “matured” a little.

Can’t remember exactly what age I was, but it was probably around 13 or 14. I redecorated in a “tropical” theme. (Late 80’s folks.)

I bought a teal bedspread with tropical fish on it, found some cool brightly colored wooden fish for my wall on our family trip to Mexico, and even bought a teal-colored aquarium to put real goldfish in.

Such a “cool” room.

I used baby-sitting money to do this sort-of thing. That’s how much I was into it.

I still love decorating. If I was rich I’d redecorate every year or two. Just for fun.

But I’m not.

So I use freecycle. I thrift. I shop Target sales. I DIY. I garage sale. I pull things from the side of the road and “make them over”.

Pretty much all of my furniture is from IKEA (cheap!) or freecycle or handed down from generous friends.

I use birthday money and Christmas money to buy things for “myself” – house decor.

I’ve been known to use table runners for wall hangings and spray pain branches found in my yard for centerpieces.

But it works for me. I like it.

And my house is beautiful.

Ever sicne I can remember I’ve enjoyed making things beautiful.

No doubt I always will.

STOP.

 

Q for you: Did you decorate as a kid? Tell me about your “best” room makeover! (hahaha……)

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

4 responses to “Move over Martha

Leave a Reply

