The one about boredom (and how it’s foreign to me)

I can’t remember the last time I was bored.

I never get bored.

It might even be impossible for me to get bored.

I’m one of those types that always has more to do (or that I want to do) than I have time for.

A few weeks ago I was whining to my husband about this. (Actually, I was crying.)

Wht’s wrooooong with me? Why can’t I seem to find more margin in my life?

He told me that even if I had less “to do” I would find more “to do” to fill my time. That’s just who I am. I never will be a sit-around person.

You know what? He’s right.

I’m like htat. a do-er.

A million ideas sdn things and chores and projects and… did I already say ideas? and only 24 hours in teh day.

When he said that to me it didn’t make me mad. It atually helped me to relax a little.

This is just who I am. And as long as I can be who i am without stressing about it (key right tehre, folks) then everything will be just fine. Life will be full and I will be loving it.

But i can’r stress about it. I can’t. THAT will destroy me.

I’m reminding myslef this today as I just finished my dinner at 9:20pm. I’m pretty beat and the only time I’ve sat down today was to feed my baby. (God-ordained rests for mothers of littles, i’m convinced.)

And now the day is over – too tired to “do” anything today.

All I have to show for the day is a husband and two littles who have been fed and diapered adn hugged and played with. (well, i didn’t diaper my husband, thank God.)

And a clean kitchen. yay for hte clean kitchen.

Laundry will just have to wait until tomorrow. There’s always tomorrow.

STOP.

Q for you: What do you do when you get bored? (Do you get bored?)

Love,
A

P.S. Judah was having a hold-me-pretty-much-all-day-long kind of day today. (Must be a phase, he’s had a lot of them lately.) It was tiring, but I eventually just caved, burned my list, and hung out with him. It was fun. Hanging with the littles is always fun.

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

4 responses to “The one about boredom (and how it’s foreign to me)

  • Nessa

    I always have a ton of things to do – and even more I want to do. I get stir crazy where I need to get out for a change of scenery – but I don’t think that is the same as bored. It can be kinda tiring, but that okay I guess.

  • bizzareness

    heyy, good post….here’s a similar post on boredom http://bizzareness.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/i-am-bored/ have a read…..

  • amandasworldofmotherhood

    Have you tried wearing him? I love wearing the kiddos. The Ergo or Boba are super easy to put on and really comfortable to wear. I can wear my 32lb 3 yr old or my 23 lb 13 month old for hours while I cook, clean, shop, etc. I wouldn’t be able to get anything done if I didn’t have my carriers. :p

    • Adriel Booker

      oh yeah, i think i have about five different carriers actually. (ergo is my fave!) he sometimes likes it, often doesn’t. he’s not much for the car seat or stroller either – just hates being restricted in anything. often i find myself carrying him with one arm and doing dishes or playing with my toddler with the other. not sure if it’s just a phase or what, but he really (REALLY) likes to be carried! oh well, i figure it’s what he wants/needs… so i’d better enjoy it while it lasts. someday i’ll be wishing i’d still be able to hold him, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

