Hot-blooded or cold-blooded?

It’s the middle of summer here, which means I am either melting or freezing my butt off.

I prefer not to melt of course, so I try to stay in places that have AC as much as possible.

We ahve a great AC unit in our living area that we put in two years ago. It’s powerful, fairly quiet, and dang, does it cool things down fast.

I love it.

My husband loves it too. A lot. Like, a lot, alot.

When we are both home either is’t adjusted to my temperature and he’s sitting on the couch beading up with sweat, or it’s adjusted to his temperature and I’m running for slippers and a throw blanket and ear muffs.

Why?

Why do men and women have such different internal thermostats?

I know there are some exceptions, but nearly every couple I know is like this – man always hot, woman always cold.

If Ryan had his way, we’d live in a freezer.

(I’m only slightly exaggerating here.)

And I fear I’m to be outnumbered soon.

Both Levi and Judah are little sweaters too. I cannot believe the amount those two tinies sweat! It’s insane!

See, it really is a boy thing I guess.

Or at least just a Booker boy thing. *sigh*

I’d better go get my hoodie. And mittens. (The AC just went on.)

STOP.

 

Q for you: Are you hot-blooded or cold-blooded? (Please don’t get all sciency on me here folks – I know you’re not an amphibian ok? Juuuust a figure of speech.) And what do you think – is it a gender thing? 

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

One response to “Hot-blooded or cold-blooded?

  • Amy

    Yep, my hubby is the same way. He loves cranking the AC. And then, when he realizes our electric bill soared, he turns the AC off and sweats a small river.

Leave a Reply

