Changing my mind

I’m a very decisive person.

it’s not hard for me to make up my mind.

And usually, I stick with it.

I’m an instinctual decision-maker, rarely weighing things up very much.

“going wit h my gut” has always worked well for me. (Mostly.)

Even though I’m decisive, doesn’t mean I’m unwaivering.

I do change my mind. But if my mind is to be changed, there has to be a really good reason. Generally I don’t fluff around with my stance on things.

But lately I’ve been really challenged in my thinking in one area.

I don’t even know where to pinpoint the source of my challenge…

Something I’ve read? A conversation I’ve had?

Not really.

I’ts more internal, more intuitive.

I think it’s God.

So I’m trying to “weigh” my views, my opinions, my take on this one area.

(I’m being vague, aren’t I? I know.)

But this one’s different, it’s bigger. I can’t just blab about it until I’m sure. (Or at least more sure.)

(And this blog is a bit of a blab.)

Interesting place to be in… changing my mind on something that’s important to me. Like, really important.

But I’m ok with that. I have to be.

The moment I’m absolutely closed to chaning my mind about something is probably the same moment that I’ve lost all shred of humility.

(We don’t want to go there, now do we?)

So I think I’m changing my mind…

But I’m not sure yet.

STOP.

 

Q for you: Have you ever changed your mind on a “big” issue, a value issue?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

One response to “Changing my mind

  • Nessa

    That is a toughie… having something that you “knew” become something you wonder about and start to change your thinking on. Head and heart growing at the same time…

Leave a Reply

