Thoughts on nighttime parenting and being hypocritical

Lately I’ve been feeling like I have a newborn again.

Judah is now over four months old, and only a couple of weeks ago he was sleeping through the night fairly consistently. (We’re talking from 7pm to 6 or 7am. Wow. It was grand while it lasted.)

But the problem with babies sleeping through the night, is that once they do… you expect them to continue.

And now (the last week or two) he’s been up several times a night.

Could be teething, could be a growth spurt, could be a developmental leap, could be a number of thngs or all of hte above.

Who knows.

Whatever it is, it’s making me tired!

And when it’s hte middle of hte night and I’m dead-tired, I usually respond in a with a groan and my thoughts in a haze. I mechanically get up and feed him and go through the motions of what I’m “supposed” to do.

But then I think about it in the morning and realize that how I parent him at night is reflective of how I parent him in general.

And I don’t want to be a parent that just goes thorugh the motions… even if that is just at night. (Isn’t that being hypocritical? Ugh.)

You see, when I come to God, there is no time that’s inconvenient. No time that I bother him. No time that he’s put out by my coming (or questioning or whatever-ing).

And I want to parent my children like God parents me.

So I think about judah, awake int eh night…

Am I inconvenienced? Am I bothered? Am I grumpy about it?

Often, the answer is “yes”.

But I don’t want to be.

I want to be a parent to him like God is to me.

(Sacrificial, generous, grace-giving, expecting hte best.)

So I’m working on changing my attitude, changing my perspective… my nighttime perspective.

It’s not easy, but I know it’s right.

And right is better than easy.

STOP.

Q for you: If you are a parent, have you thought much about your nighttime parenting? Does it represent you well? Or are you a different parent during the night than you are during the day?

Love,
A

p.s. Just for the record, I went a little over time today! Like… maybe a minute. (Keepin’ it real, folks. Keepin’ it real.)

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

2 responses to “Thoughts on nighttime parenting and being hypocritical

Leave a Reply

