Running on fumes

Today was one of those days…

You know the kind? The kind where you are so glad it’s over (and so glad days aren’t able to be repeated) and yet you also kinda want to repeat it so that you can get a do-over?

I feel like today was a lot of time squandered, not lived well, because I was too overwhelmed with my own tiredness.

I don’t want to turn this into a whine fest so I’ll just say the littles have been high needs lately, both for different reasons. (Highly legitimate reasons.)

But because of that I’ve been so tired that my awake time is spent wishing I was asleep and my asleep time is spent not really sleeping well becuase I’m stressing about how tired I am and how to meet everyone’s needs while being tired.

Aparently the word of the day is tired. How many tiems have I used that in one post now?

I won’t drag this on becuase my phone just died and so my five minute timer died too.

Ironic.

I’ve got to pack it in before I crash sitting up. I’m running on fumes and even teh fumes are about to expire.

In the great big scope of life it’s no big deal. These days happen.

Babies grow. Things change. Life rolls on.

Tired or not, it’s my choice to make the most of it.

All we can control in life is our own choices and responses.

Here’s hoping tomorrow is a little better. Er, less tiring. Or something.

Waaaaah.

Silly post.

STOP.

 

Q for you: When’s the last time you slept through the night and slept in until 10am? No, wait, don’t tell me.

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

4 responses to “Running on fumes

  • Gwen

    you’re a great mom (memos)! wish I could help …

  • Rachel

    10am!!! I wish… Those r the days before children and maybe afta they have left home!! Goodness I have a long time to wait for that! Mine all sleep through the night now…..finally… Still awake at 6.30 or earlier every morning…. I suppose if you could make yourself go to bed at 8.30 one or two night a week just to get a few xtra hous that wud help…. I know u enjoy staying up as that’s the only time as mums we get sum peace….

    • Adriel Booker

      yeah, sometimes i try to go to sleep early – like 9pm – and then i lay there wide awake… getting frustrated that i can’t sleep. then i get more frustrated that i’m “wasting” time not sleeping when i could be getting other stuff done. *sigh* catch 22! 🙂

Leave a Reply

