I write to remember

There are many reasons I write.

I write because I enjoy it. I also write because I’m good at it. (And don’t we all like to do things we’re good at?)

But I also write to remember.

I’ve never been one of those people who can sit around and tell stories.

My husband is like that. I lvoe that about him – he’s never without some story to tell.

Often I try to think of stories to tell… and I just can’t think of any. Seriously. It’s like they don’t even exist in my brain.

I know they must be buried in there somewjere, but wherever that somewhere is, it’s not close to the surface.

So one of the reasons I write is to remember.

I really started writing when Levi was a couple of months old. I’m SO glad I did.

Even now I thnk back to those days (which aren’t that long ago) and the details are hazy.

What helps me to remember are the things I wrote about and the things I photographed.

If I’ve somehow captured it on paper or in image, it’s much more cemented in my mind. (Luckily I have thousands of photos to help jog the old memory!)

But what I don’t have much recored abotu are my travels.

This makes me incredibly sad.

I’ve been to around 35 different countries I think, some of them multiple tiems. Some just for fun, adn some with my work.

I remember a story here and there. I remember how I felt. I remember random facts about hte people I met or something I ate or did.

But largely, my memory is hazy.

How I wish little laptops had been available then like they are now!

I’d have volumes and volumes of stories recorded.

I’m grateful to have (already) lived such a full and interesting life.

I only wish I could remember it a little better.

STOP.

 

Q for you: Do you write? If so, why?

 

Love,
A

P.S. This is the same reason I’m a “list person”. I’d remember nothing if it weren’t a part of some list or another. *sigh*

 

Click Clink Five is a blog by Adriel Booker. | Five minutes a day, unedited. | 2012 All rights reserved. | Adriel also writes on parenting and motherhood at The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

7 responses to “I write to remember

  • t.on.air

    Thanks for the question. I write to open myself more because I don’t talk much on a daily basis. Also, memory plays an important role for me too. I guess I also write to remember.

  • Branson

    It is funny just how much it seems we have in common when I read this particular blog of yours. I am always nodding along… this is another one of those posts! I am the same way about remembering things, and that is why I try to write so much down. If you want to get really honest, it kind of scares me, and makes me a little sad. I don’t want to lose these memories of time with the bubs. I had a rough childhood, and so forgetting a lot of that is a blessing, but I want to cling to these memories and cherish these moments when life is good, and I guess it is comforting in a way to know that I am not the only one who has a bad long-term memory.

  • Davies 6

    I love hearing that you would love to be a story person and you try to think of one, but it’s like it didn’t exist.. wow I thought I was the only person who that happened to!!

    I think that I’m only just discovering that I communicate better when I write. and Remember things better too. Thanks for writing about this.

Leave a Reply

