Looks really do matter

I was in a new grocery store today and saw these:

Doesn’t that make you want to buy and eat your veggies?

Yes mam. Bring on the brussel sprouts!

As much as we all like to say, “it’s what’s on the inside that counts”, that’s not entirely true.

(And you know this applies to people too… we really are initially attracted to “beautiful” ones, are we not? But that’s a different post.)

If you’re choosing between an apple with a few nicks in the skin or an apple with a perfectly smooth skin, which one do you choose?

Right. I thought so.

You choose the one that looks good. (That’s why millions of pounds of perfectly good food gets thrown out every day in the West. Yup, also another post.)

Marketing experts know this. They not only know it, they exploit it–I mean–they do their job well.

Ever since moving here I’ve had a “beef” with my local Woolworths (equivalent to Safeway). Their slogan is that they’re the “Fresh Food People” but their produce sucks. (Sorry if that’s not nice language to you.)

But it’s true.

I’ve bought perfectly good looking spinach leaves only to find them completely brown and gross two days later. Obviously they were harvested and packaged loooong before I ever had the chance to buy them.

Hey Fresh Food People, I’d like to be able to buy my veggies once a week, thanks. No daily trips to the grocery store for me! (Another good reason to get our produce from the Sunday farmers market.)

But seeing Woollies display their produce like it is now? That makes me think: fresh, straight from the farm, earthy, yum, pretty, healthy, BUY ME!!

They’re doing a good job reeling me in, I must admit.

I wonder if their produce selection will match their fresh, new look?

STOP.

Q for you: How are you swayed by looks? Come on… admit it…

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited
Adriel also writes on motherhood and parenting at The Mommyhood Memos

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

2 responses to “Looks really do matter

  • Branson

    I love you for apologizing for saying sucks 😉

    And yes that looks tasty… I really hope to grow my own this year. I would be much more likely to eat blemished produce from my garden, haha. No but seriously it is tragic how much food we throw away based on looks.

    • Adriel Booker

      haha. i once said “crap” during a sermon and as soon as i said it got all embarrassed and wondered if i’d crossed a line. (it was about 13 years ago – i’d be faaaar less worried today.) the pastor’s wife teased me about it after the service and told me she loved it. *phew* 😉

Leave a Reply

