On being introverted and social and doing what I “should”

I’ve been playgroup hopping lately, trying to find one that’s a good fit for the boys and I.

Seems like it would be easy to find one. Kids, moms, snacks. What’s so complicated about that?

But the ones I’ve gone to have either been too structured or too far away or the wrong time of day or too crowded or too small.

Seems there’s always something.

It’s been interesting to watch Levi exploring these new environments too.

As much as I’ve been making an effort to connect with these other moms I don’t yet know, Levi is also surrounded by kids he doesn’t yet know.

And our little outgoing, loud, jumping, dancing dude that is used to being around 100 adults all at once has suddenly gone all quiet anf fringe.

He mostly just hangs out on the periphery. Not shy really, but not engaging much either. He loves being out playing with new toys or in new environments, but seems to mostly stick to himself, perfectly content to entertain himself.

He really is as independent as we keep thinking he is.

And so am I.

As I drove home from our latest playgroup attempt this morning I wondered if I’d ever really find one that “fit” immediately, or if it was just that I’m fairly independent and like doing my own thing on my own terms.

Not shy at all, but definitely comfortable spending my time as an introvert and doing as i please.

An introvert (who gets refreshed by being alone) but also loves to be social and have some fun.

And who also wants my boys to have fun running around with other kids instead of being cooped up with me all day.

How will this whole mom’s group thing pan Out? I guess time will tell.

In the meantime, I’ll keep playgroup hopping as I’m able. I think it’s good for all of us to get out and explore this little town that I so often dismiss as being too hot or too small or too whatever.

Because the reality is, it’s home. It’s ours. And it’s time to dig a little deeper… I think.

STOP.

 

Q for you: Are you an introvert or an extrovert? How does that factor into your social gatherings?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited.
Adriel also writes on motherhood and parenting at The Mommyhood Memos

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

4 responses to “On being introverted and social and doing what I “should”

  • michelle

    gosh we are so similar. I feel like I wrote this. ditto to everything you just said. everything!

  • Jenna

    I keep making excuses each week as to why I can’t or don’t have time to try out any of the groups in my town. Thank you for the reality check, we all need to get out of our comfort zones every once in awhile!

    • Adriel Booker

      yeah. 🙂 for me it’s not just getting out of my comfort zone (i don’t find that part hard exactly). it’s more the “is this WORTH my time?” question. i feel like life is always so busy and i get very guarded about things like this. but i know ultimately it’s worth it. i guess that would be the same question for you too… is it worth it? 🙂 but wow, it’s easy to make excuses, isn’t it?!!

Leave a Reply

