Writing every day

I’m kinda amazed that I’ve been writing now every day for two adn a half months.

(Good job, Adriel.)

I definitely think some posts have been better than others. (Some have been downright… bad.) But I’m finding that overall I’m so glad I made this goal.

i think it’s forcing me to think about what I really want to say. Forcing me to try and be more succinct. Forcing me to let go of perfection (the biggest thing, I think). And forcing me to… just write.

And “just writing” is helping me to stay more in the flow of writing.

I read Madeline L’Engle’s book “Walking on Water” many years ago (a book on faith adn art) and it really impacted me. I’ll never forget her advice that if you want to grow as an artist, you must “do” your art every day.

It’s taken me many years to put that into practice.

But this little blog is helping.

it’s probably not overly profound to anyone who reads… but it’s verging on profound for me.

I think for the first time I actually feel like I’m growing as a writer.

Kind of a hard one to quantify or gage, but I feel it.

Maybe next year I will have to do something daily to grow in my photography. (Though that does feel daunting….. hmmm… probably won’t. but maybe?)

STOP.

 

Q for you: Do you have something that you’ve committed to do every day, just for the sake of getting better?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited.
Adriel also writes (using spell check) on motherhood and parenting on The Mommyhood Memos.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

2 responses to “Writing every day

Leave a Reply

