On the life of leisure and slicing grapes

I spent my morning pretending I was a woman of leisure.

Since Judah provided me an eventful night and I woke up groggy and TI-ERD this morning, I knew we had to get out of the house. If we stayed home I would never survive until nap time.

By 9:15 we were out the door (a small feat in itself) and down at the Strand to play at the Pirate Park. Levi climbed and played and jumped while Judah and I hung out on a blanket in the shade. Now and then I’d get up and play with Levi for a while, keeping Judah in my line of vision or bringing him along, perched on my hip.

it was gorgeous – clear blue skies, a perfect 80(ish) degrees, light breeze. Tiny waves crashed in the background.

We ate morning tea, we played “duck duck goose” with some older kids that we met (3 and 4 year olds!), and I taught Levi how to climb backwards off the knotted rope ladders.

After our play we took a walk. Within seconds Judah was asleep so I decided to go for a long enough walk that he could have a decent nap before heading back home.

We walked past cafes and shops and I made one little detour into a boutique that is way out of my league. I admired a cute little wooden truck ($45) and a lovely cup and saucer ($58) before high-tailing it out of there.

As I made my way back to my car I began to imagine that this is how I spent every day – out and about with my kids. Parks, play dates, swimming, shopping, library-ing, cafe-ing. Not home doing chores, not changing diapers, not wiping avacodo and drool of my baby’s chin or wiping my toddlers bum after a triumphant poo in the potty.

And Good Lord, not buried under mounds of laundry! Certainly not!

This morning I led the glamorous mom life that every girl dreams of before she becomes one herself. Or me at least. (Well, minus the $58 tea cup and saucer.)

And yes, there are moments of this – like today – enjoying a “life of leisure” with my littles. And there are other days, like yesterday where we spent all day cleaning and laundering and tripping over megablocks.

That’s it. Life as a SAHM – some of it is glamorous and leisurely, most of it’s not. But I’m learning to let it all be as worship unto God.

It’s in teh small that our greatest offereings are given.

I reminded myself that when I got home and sliced grapes and made one more PB&J.

STOP.

 

Q for you: What are you doing that’s small and significant today?

 

Love,
A

p.s. Went over time today. Again.

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited.
Adriel also writes (using spell check!) on motherhood and parenting at The Mommyhood Memos

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

One response to “On the life of leisure and slicing grapes

  • Mary Kate

    When I have late nights or afternoons alone (baby is not here yet) folding piles of clean laundry I just thank God that I have a wonderful husband to provide for in such a practical way, and now a little one as well. I am thankful for the extra laundry load because it means I have this blessing of a family. A thankful heart can really change perspective, especially to something as mundane as laundry!

Leave a Reply

