Do you have rules for yourself that you sometimes wish you didn’t?

Recently I found a stack of thank you cards that I never finished. Some are from Levi’s birthday (January). THe others are from Christmas.

Can I just say how devastating this is?

I have a personal value that gifts should always be acknowledged by a thank you card. It’s something I try to always do.

For both of these occasions I printed out cute cards that I made myself. (Put a little effort into it already, you know?)

I have my lists of who needs to be thanked.

And then they got buried under the mounds of other stuff in that one cubby hole in my office shelves that I avoid that’s full of things to be filed and paperwork to sort out…

and never saw the light of day again until… later.

Much later.

Now we are looking at three and four months late.

What do I do?

Chalk it up as a thank you fail and move on?

Of write the cards with a “better late than never” mentality? (Almost more embarassing, I think?)

Would people be blessed to receive a thank you this far down the track? Or is that just weird.

I’m seriously considering moving on… but then there’s this thing. This thing I have about doing them.

Ugh.

Does this happen to anyone else? Do you have “rules” for yourself that you sometimes wish you didn’t but that you also don’t want to give up because you think they;re important? (And was that a long, non-sensical sentence, or what?)

Help me.

STOP.

 

Q for you: What’s one of your personal “things” that you just have to do… but sometimes with you didn’t?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

4 responses to “Do you have rules for yourself that you sometimes wish you didn’t?

  • Gwen

    I admire that about you and know it to be true, you even thank us with a handwritten note! Without wanting to add to your sense of “have-to’s” I would probably say write and send them. We recently received a wedding thank you seven months later, and although I had forgotten it, it still blessed me. Thank you’s are always welcome. I could learn from you. xo

  • Kelly Lake

    I agree with Gwen! Three or four months down the road really isn’t that long, and I know people will still be glad to be thanked for the gift. I like to send handwritten thank you notes too, it’s getting to be a lost art, but I still think it’s classy and important. 🙂

  • Branson

    I would definitely still send them! 🙂 I think snail mail is such a blessing… no matter how long it takes to get sent! Speaking of which… you should email me your mailing address sometime! hehe

Leave a Reply

