Enjoying the small things, wholeheartedly

It’s easy to take for granted, isn’t it? Especially the small things.

Like bathtubs and quiet hours and good books.

This morning the boys went out for a walk along the Strand while I stayed in our hotel room and drew a hot bath.

I can’t actually remember the last time I had a bath. We only have a shower stall at home, so when we came to the hotel with a clean, white bathtub I knew I needed to make sure to bury myself in it at some point.

After the boys left I filled the tub, boiled the kettle and made myself a cup of tea, put a small lamp in the bathroom so I wouldn’t need the bright overhead lights, and settled in with a book.

Music played on the ipad a few feet away until I realized, wait, I never get this – the sound of silence – and quickly turned it off.

I let my tired muscles soak and my weary soul drink of Ann’s rich words.

Today would be a day I would not take for granted. I would not let it slip by without making it matter.

Small things, normal things, beautiful things.

The boys returned, bounding in with squeals and mommmyyyyyyy! just as I finished drying off my pruned up skin.

I was ready to see them again, missing them.

Clean and grateful I pulled my robe around my middle and went out to embrace my little balls of endless energy.

Enjoying the small things, wholeheartedly.

STOP.

 

Q for you: When is the last time you really enjoyed the small things?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

3 responses to “Enjoying the small things, wholeheartedly

  • Jessica

    Beautiful post, Adriel. I have been making more time recently to enjoy the small things because I’ve learned that those things are what make me feel happiest, most complete. I haven’t taken a bath since my last pregnancy. Need to do that soon!

    • Adriel Booker

      I want to go back tonight and have another one. *sigh* Wish I could have squeezed on more in there… but oh well. 😉

      Yes, I’m on a journey to do this more but it’s not something that comes naturally to me. By nature I’m forward-thinking and futuristic, a planner and visionary. My husband is MUCH better at living in the moment. He’s good for me. We balance each other I guess. 🙂

  • 5 Meaningful Mothers Day Gift Ideas for Under $15

    […] yourself? It generated some great comments and discussion. On CC5 there was little baby and enjoying the small things, wholeheartedly and breastfeeding is God’s coffee break for moms and why talking about money is fun, not […]

Leave a Reply

