Why talking about money is fun, not boring

No one likes to talk about money.

At least not on a personal level.

We talk about investments and the economy and “out there” stuff, but most like to keep talk of their personal paychecks private.

Today I wrote a post about finances for another blog that’s soon to launch (where I’ve been asked to be a regular contributor – more about that soon). And, although I usually think the topic of finance is a little boring…

I was totally into it.

I mean, like really, really diggin it.

Because when you know God, and are connected to him, it becomes not just about numbers in a bank account or dollars in your pocket, it becomes about understanding him and his ways. (And, oh how I love knowing him and his ways!)

There’s a verse in Luke that talks about how he provides for the ravens and how much “more valuable” we are than them.

And that’s it! That’s the key!

God provides for us because we’re worth it. We’re worth it.

Did you catch that? Cuz it goes for you too.

He also provides for us because that’s who he is – our Provider. Capital P. That’s what he does. He can’t not be himself.

Money can be a difficult thing – when it rules us, when it seems we are in lack, when it’s squandered, when we idolize it, etc. But it can also be a really beautiful thing.

Jesus never shied away from talking about money.

So why do we?

We need it. We want it. We can even use it as a tool to worship him and bless others.

I’m so glad he thinks I’m worth it.

STOP.

Q for you: Do you struggle with talking about money? Did you know that God thinks you’re worth it?

Love,
A

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

7 responses to “Why talking about money is fun, not boring

  • tracy dickinson

    i always thought i was a little weird for liking to discuss money. i love your post and totally agree. i have in fact recently started thinking about a money blog. can’t wait to read more!

    • Adriel Booker

      well, yeah. i don’t talk about money that much… but i’m also realizing that when i do talk about it (from a faith perspective) i enjoy it.

  • deaconhayes

    I can honestly say that I do not have a problem talking about money, but perhaps that is because I have a personal finance blog :). I do think it is important to know that God owns it all and that we are only temporary managers of the stuff he has blessed us with. Thanks for the insight from a biblical perspective!

  • Rochelle

    This is definitely something I am learning to give to God. Growing up on a farm, it felt like that was all my parents ever talked about (stressed about) and I always felt a tension. What if we wouldn’t have enough money, or enough food, or enough clothing, etc. In reality, I never felt like we were missing out, but that desire to be frugal stuck with me. Once I had my own job and had more than enough I relaxed. Now I’m home with my kids and we are living on one income. Scary, but I want to trust Him. I want to relax not because we have a surplus, but because I believe He loves us and will provide no matter what the bank account tells me we’re “worth.”

    • Adriel Booker

      That’s a good point Rochelle. I certainly think there is danger in talking about money “too much”, especially when it’s spoken of with a lack of faith or an abundance of worry. Not helpful for anyone.

  • 5 Meaningful Mothers Day Gift Ideas for Under $15

    […] the small things, wholeheartedly and breastfeeding is God’s coffee break for moms and why talking about money is fun, not boring. I guest posted at Brown Eyed Bell(e) about what my c-section and VBAC have in common. And if […]

Leave a Reply

