We play our songs

Our son has been smitten over music since the moment he was born.

I can’t even remember exactly when we first noticed his love of music because it was always there.

He’s obsessed with the guitar. He loves the xylophone. Drums? Of course. Harmonica? Yup.

And this kid has moves – he looooves to dance. He feels it too – his dancing changes very much with different types of music. (We adore putting on slow music and watching him attempt a two-year-old interpretation of ballet. Love.)

Today we were playing guitar together – me on my guitar, him on his.

Judah sat a few feet away playing with toys and I sat across from Levi with the guitar on my lap and a kids song book out before me (expanding my song bank – ha!). Levi climbed all over me, clawing at the guitar, smashing into my case, stepping on my book. It was a total circus. And I wasn’t very much enjoying it.

I wanted to play a few songs together and sing “Puff the Magic Dragon” and see my boy pick up his own guitar and dance around the room like he usually does.

He wanted to play a few songs together too. It’s just that his definition of “play” looked very different to my own.

I finally gave up, put the song book away, and just let him have at the strings while I played some chords on the neck.

It was pretty terrible sounding, but of course he loved it.

Made me wonder how God feels when we’re “helping” him. We get in there and try to do it our way. We “play our songs” which often sound nothing like his.

And yet he loves it all anyway. He loves that we have a go. He loves that we want to participate.

He loves that we want to play a song with him.

I’ll try to remember that when Levi wants to “play” again.

STOP.

 

Q for you: What kind of songs have you been playing lately?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

2 responses to “We play our songs

  • Beth

    My 15 month old has just begun singing sounds to us. He sings and then looks at us for approval and clapping. Sometimes he signs so much he starts to dance. Always ending with a glance at us and a smile. My 5 year old has begun to pray hard lately. Not rehearsed bedtime prayers, but off the cuff ones something like “thanks for trucks, my brother and asparagus.” Even with his eyes closed and hands clasped tight, I can feel him straining to hear God’s approval at what he knows is a novice prayer. I hug them both and by the grace of God, I can feel his presence.

    • Adriel Booker

      oh, that’s so precious! the way the littles seek our approval is so, so frequent and so, so important isn’t it? what an awesome responsibly we have to help them feel accepted, loved, and secure.

      i hope you have some blessed asparagus for dinner! lol.

Leave a Reply

