A fifteen hour work day. Again.

At 10:00pm tonight I had finally finished with unpacking the groceries, putting away the clean dishes, loading the dirty ones in the dishwasher, finishing the laundry, and giving a quick wipe of the kitchen sink and counters.

That’s a fifteen hour work day right there. And that’s not including checking or responding to emails or anything ‘admin’ related. (Or personal stuff – like writing here on my wee blog!)

I’m not saying that to complain (though sometimes I desperately want to complain about it).

I’m saying it because I used to think it really sucked when I had to work late – until 6:00 or 7:00pm.

And now here I am at 10:00pm and I’m just now sitting down alone for the first time today. (When your job is like mine you work through your “lunch break” on a daily basis.)

The thought of sitting down in the evenings and zoning out in front of the telly is very appealing, but even that seems hard to come by these days.

I’m not sure why it’s taken me almost 2.5 years, but I think I’m just now figuring out how different my life really is since having kids.

I’m just now figuring out that I actually can’t compare it to “life before” when it comes to work hours and down time or else I just get depressed!

I wouldn’t trade my job if I could. Really.

But it is hard, and tiring, and consuming.

I have days (like yesterday) when I’m ready to call up a day care centre and see how much it costs to send the kids there. Seriously.

While at the same time I know what an absolute privilege it is that I’m able to stay home with my kids. (Something not every mom who desires to is able to do.)

I’m blessed. Tired, and blessed.

(And for the record, I know that everyone has days they want to quit their job. Being a SAHM isn’t any different – I realize that.)

Anyway.

Tomorrow morning I will get up and start all over again.

Rejoice!

STOP.

 

Q for you: Are you a SAHM? If so, are you deliberate about “clocking off” at a certain hour? Or do you find yourself pulling lots of late nights like me? How do you build in margin??

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

9 responses to “A fifteen hour work day. Again.

  • lifelibertyeducation

    I take breaks and read emails or stop and watch a show on tv (that one is rare) or I take a nap with the littles. Children and even toddlers need to explore some on their own. Make sure they have a safe area to do so and use that bit of time to do something you enjoy or relax. When mine were babies we napped together and I read emails while they played. It wasn’t much time on my own but it help get me through. As preschoolers they had backyard time or played with blocks or even occasionally got to watch tv. We also still napped whenever we could fit it in (though by then it was rare). When they were all in school I spent the mornings cleaning the house and getting laundry done then had a couple whole hours to run errands and relax (until I took on a preschooler in the afternoons for a year). Don’t just push through or you will eventually burn out.

  • elizabeth mann

    to be honest, most nights i go to bed about a hour after she does and that ends up being around seven. it’s kinda early but it works for us. i usually don’t get much done at night because our place is so small (not a complaint, a blessing) that it would be too loud and wake her up. i try to get things (like dishes or laundry) done during the few minutes she is content playing on the floor.. and my personal things like writing or tv show catch-up happens during her naps. josh has a awesome work schedule so we find time together throughout the day. early to bed isn’t for everybody but it works for us. josh goes to bed later then i do so that time he gets alone is good for his as well. oh, and i’m still nursing so those are great breaks too!

    • Adriel Booker

      that’s so good that you’ve found something that works for you. i suppose it’s just been a little harder to find those spaces for me during this last little stint when the boys naps have not been overlapping. today they did overlap though, and WOW did that make a difference. hoping it’s not a fluke and we can get back to that happening regularly. i SO need that little break at some point during the day! x

  • Lori

    I’m right there with you. Thanks for sharing.

  • Jessica F. Hinton (@mommyhoodnxtrt)

    Your yesterday sounds like our yesterday– extremely full and non-stop. I do like knowing that I can “get off” at a certain time, especially when all I want to do are the things I think are “so very important and can’t be done with children awake. But sometimes, some days, that doesn’t happen. It’s tough, but I’ve learned that on days like those I must just pace myself, go slow, build endurance. That’s how I survive and thrive– in my runs and stay at home motherhood.

  • Kerry

    After the kids go to bed I try not to do much work afterwards. Others get to clock off don’t they? Doesn’t mean I get everything done though.

Leave a Reply

