Americans are nice

Living in Australia, one of the things I miss is the level of customer service that’s offered in America.

You just can’t compare the two, and it’s too difficult to explain without experiencing it first hand.

Australians aren’t rude, they’re just different.

Americans have “customer service” ingrained in them. Yes, I know there are exceptions, and you’ll sometimes run into a rude phone rep or server or whatever, but by and large American customer service is amazing.

Today I was in Costo and had to go to the membership desk.

“May I have a coupon book please?” I asked.

“Why yes of course you can!” said the customer service rep. But it wasn’t just her words, it was her tone, her expression, her gesture, her massive smile, and the twinkle in her eye. It was as if she had been waiting all day for someone to ask her that question so she could give them a coupon book.

She was so nice! SO nice.

I half expected her to hand me some cotton candy too.

Yes, it was just a few little words, but it made a huge impression on me. Totally made me grin all the way back to the checkout and then out the door.

Hours later I’m still thinking about it.

Maybe she was a shining example, but to me she was not just a good Costco employee, she was a really nice American.

As much as Americans are known for being loud and large and demanding and confident, they should also be known for being warm and friendly and positive and encouraging.

I love America. And Americans.

It’s good to be home.

STOP.

 

Q for you: Do you think Americans are nice? Or is it just Oregonian Americans that are so nice?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

3 responses to “Americans are nice

  • lifelibertyeducation

    I have lived in the UK and visited several other countries but must say that I find Americans in general the most friendly I have come across. Not only customer service but being able to just start up a conversation with a stranger. In the UK I found people would just look at me like I had three heads is I tried to just chat.

  • Johannes

    True, but I think Americans are nicer when they work in a shop, or restaurant, but in real life, Aussies are way more relatable.

  • boomeresq

    The U.S. is a big place, so it’s hard to generalize. I’m from a big mid-Atlantic city, Philadelphia. My experience is that folks are “friendlier” away from the big cities of the northeast like Boston, New York, Philadelphia and Washington, D.C. I’m just back from a visit to the Republic of Ireland and England and I lived in England for a year 1969-1970 (yes, I’m Boomeresque). I think the English and Irish are more reserved than Americans. I’ve also traveled in Australia and New
    Zealand and found Aussies and Kiwis to be fairly outgoing and welcoming. I’m not enjoying generalizing. Bottom line–there are people of good will everywhere and if you practice the Golden Rule, you will find them.

Leave a Reply

