Along party lines. Again.

It’s hard for me to be in America and not think about politics.

I love watching the news and hearing from the analysts.

This last week has been interesting – watching my facebook feed with Americans weighing in on the health care reforms that have just passed.

I’m certainly no expert, but I have read up a little. And although finding a perfect health care plan is impossible, my belief is that the reforms coming through “Obamacare” are moving us in the right direction.

As a Christian my primary concern is that we’re looking after those who are marginalized – those who have disease and disability, children, the elderly, the poor.

This imperfect plan (even by Obama’s admission) addresses all those those and more.

It’s a huge step in the right direction, starting from where we are right now.

Sincerely I try, but I just can’t understand the Republican/Democratic divide on this one. I really can’t.

I’m no Republican-hater, but my goodness, what’s the deal here folks? Are we disagreeing just because we’re “supposed” to be opposing? (Sometimes that’s what the debate feels like.)

From what I can tell the only ones who will really “suffer” from the impending changes are the insurance companies and pharmaceuticals. (But I make it no secret that I’m in favor of a more socialized health care system.)

And doesn’t the concept of helping “the least of these” seem like it will help build a better future for all of us?

And doesn’t it just seem like the right thing to do?

Just sayin.

STOP.

 

Q for you: Obamacare – what do you think? Do you get as annoyed that issues are always split down party lines as I do?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited

 

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

6 responses to “Along party lines. Again.

  • Ana

    Overall, I don’t get the split. When it comes down to it, we shouldn’t vote based on whether the law/person/whatever (I am so using my wonderful vocab skillz herez!! Lol!) Is either Democrat or Republican. I am a moderate. I vote on whether the proposed issue will help or hinder America. I have not read up much on ObamaCare.

  • Sara

    I believe the main issues republicans have is that there is a mandate attached to Obamacare. Goverment should not be forcing Americans to pay a fine for not having health insurance. There are many wonderful things in the bill that I think we can all agree on. I believe that insurance companies are the ones that need reform not healthcare itself. We are really hurting out freedom’s here by making government even larger than it is. Where does it end? Bigger government, telling people what they can and can’t buy or where they can buy it? That’s taking freedom away and in my opinion not helping anyone. The main thing republicans should be expressing is they need to repeal the mandate and go about this in a different and better way also without causing the deficit to balloon like it is going to under obamacare.

  • Ali Johnson

    Well, about 90% of the “Obamacare” plan was created by the insurance and drug companies, and they would never create a plan that allowed them to take a cut in profits. And because most, if not all, plans do not give any little (if any) room for natural and non-traditional methods of treatment, because if they did allow that the insurance and drug co’s wouldn’t make their money. When you have strong beliefs about the use of certain meds and treatments, such as flu vaccines and chemotherapy, it’s not right for the government to require you to purchase those plans. Socialized medicine does not give room for a lot of personal choice. Take Canada, I have personally heard several accounts of individuals that not only were wait listed so long for chemo that they could have died if they waited, but were denied coverage for alternatives, so they came to the USA to get the treatment they wanted. And that’s a few that could afford to make such an extreme move. Think of those natural birth choices you want, you may not get those with Obamacare.

    And if you decline coverage you get penalized with a tax of approx $2000 for a couple. So if you don’t want the traditional drugs and treatments you are still forced to pay? It’s not right. My sister for example, most likely won’t qualify for the cheap plans (which are cheap because the working people pay taxes to pay for it), so she’ll be paying a penalizing tax because she didn’t purchase. How is that good, helpful or right? You may even have to pay the penalty tax when you don’t live in the country. That’s not right.

    I think the main dived seems to be this mandatory purchasing issue, at least that’s what it is for me. I think it’s good and the right thing to do to secure affordable health care for everyone, but not at the cost of taking away personal choices and freedoms. Whether or not the supreme court rulled that part constitutional or not, it’s a slippery slope to start by mandating every citizen to purchase something they may not want.

    • Adriel Booker

      ahhh! i just deleted my comment accidentally! arg! will try again.

      i thought there will be more options for alternative medicine from what i’ve read, but that’s not something i’ve looked into myself so i won’t say too much more there. and yeah, i’ve heard some horror stories regarding the canadian health care system too, but i haven’t heard similar stories from other nations (european or australia or nz) that have socialized medicine… so perhaps canada is in need of some major reforms too? (i’m not educated on that so it’s just a thought. i really don’t have an informed opinion.)

      i can understand the uproar about the mandate/penalizing tax, but there has to be something in place so that people don’t just wait until they get sick to buy insurance (since insurance companies will no longer be able to refuse coverage for preexisting illness, which i think is a good thing). but yeah, i sure don’t think it’s the perfect solution. i do think there’s a lot of good that will come out of it when you look beyond the mandate issue.

      i’m not completely sold, but i am of the belief that it’s a step in the right direction. my mind isn’t made up forever though… and i’m still learning. it just breaks my heart to see so many people uninsured and suffering because of it. there has to be some sort of help for them and i do think it’s all of our responsibility to help pull the weight somehow.

      love hearing your thoughts – thanks – and please keep them coming. it’s helping me to learn.

  • alicialabeau

    Another one of the other big issues many people have with obamacare comes from small business owners. I have some friends who run small business and they are concerned the increase in insurance cost they will have to pay out on their employees or the “penalties” they will be charged if they don’t, is going to put them out of business. I agree with Sara, that this issue is making our government bigger and giving them power and control to dictate one more area of our lives.

    Truly, I believe that caring for the orphans and the widows, feeding the hungry, tending to the sick, those are mandates that Christ gave the church, not the government. And we as Christians have kind of dropped the ball on that one here in America. I don’t have a perfect solution, but I do have the power of prayer.

    2 Chronicles 7:14
    if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

Leave a Reply

