I’m convinced that He is able to guard what I’ve entrusted to Him…

“…because I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until that day.” 2 Timothy 1:12b

God guards – keeps, protects, covers – that which is entrusted to him.

If you’ve been a Christian for more than… oh, a nanosecond, chances are you’ve had to entrust things to God over, and over, and over again.

And then you think you’ve done it once-and-for-all only to realize somehow you’ve picked up that burden/worry/sin yet again.

Sometimes it’s not even a bad thing that you have to entrust to him – it could be a very precious thing – but that doesn’t mean you should carry it yourself.

(Did you know our good stuff can become idols too? Our spouse, kids, ministry, etc?)

But Paul tells Timothy in his second epistle that he (the Lord) guards that which is entrusted to him.

So it’s making me think, are there any areas in my life that I’ve not entrusted to the Lord right now? Are there areas where I’ve once trusted but have stopped?

A “small” but current area came immediately to mind as I asked God to search my heart related to this issue.

And just like that, I was able to acknowledge it and entrust it to him. Again.

I’m so glad he’s the one keeping and protecting it now.

Pretty sure he’ll be doing a better job than me.

STOP.

 

Q for you: Do you have any areas you need to entrust to him? (Don’t you want him to guard them for you anyway??)

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited.

About Adriel Booker

Writer, speaker, advocate, and non-prof worker. Happily married city-lover, mama, and emoji enthusiast in Sydney, Australia. Author of Grace Like Scarlett (Baker Books, 2018). View all posts by Adriel Booker

2 responses to “I’m convinced that He is able to guard what I’ve entrusted to Him…

  • cooperl788

    I think that I sometimes live in conflict with this reading from Timothy. When we were going through infertility issues these last two years, I prayed daily for Him to take on our sadness and worry, to help me to understand His plan. And He did, at the same time answering our prayers. And yet, after all of this, I struggle with handing over the worry and doubts about our most precious gifts (my kids) to God. In the end, I know that He will continue to keep and watch over my family. I just need to let go, and let God. (Breathe…)

    • Adriel Booker

      I find it so hard to “hand over” my kids, too. But I can only imagine how infertility issues add that extra depth of “but these are mine that I waited and fought and prayed for”… There was a great cost. Such a hard thing to go through, I’m sure. I’m so glad you guys are coming out the other side. Rejoicing with you! (And learning to surrender my kids, along with you, too.) Thanks for sharing from your heart. I so appreciate your vulnerability. x

Leave a Reply

