Does going to the movies alone make me an introvert?

Are you an introvert? Or an extravert?

This question has always confused me.

I’m not shy.

If there’s a party or something fun happening I’d like to be there. (Please invite me!)

I don’t normally have a hard time making friends.

Usually I’m pretty confortable in social settings.

But also…

Ask me my favorite way to spend a day at my discrepancy?

Alone. Probably a cafe or beach or shopping will be involved. There will be books, perhaps music, a nap, my computer (no internet necessary).

And maybe, maaaaybe a friend.

But probably not. Probably I’ll be on my own.

Does this mean I’m in introvert?

I used to go to the movies alone sometimes, on purpose.

Introvert?

I love hosting parties.

Extrovert?

Anyway, who cares really. It is what it is. I think I’ve written on this before actually, but lately I just keep seeing things online about being introverted so I suppose it’s on my mind a little.

And to be honest? Tonight I just didn’t feel like writing and so decided I would write the first thing that popped into my mind.

So there it is.

Introverted or extraverted, that is the question.

But it doesnt’ really matter, right? At the end of hte day, we all need people… adn we all need to be alone.

STOP.

 

Q for you: Are you an introvert or an extrovert? Does it really matter?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited

About Adriel Booker

Author, speaker, advocate, and non-prof director. Happily married city-lover, mother, immigrant, and emoji enthusiast in a city by the sea. ✌️ View all posts by Adriel Booker

5 responses to “Does going to the movies alone make me an introvert?

  • Lori

    I have definitely gone to the movies alone…and loved it 🙂 But I know that I am absolutely an introvert!

  • Lalalian

    introvert/extrovert refers to how you “recharge”. introverts can be outgoing, confident & make friends easily etc, but will eventually need solitude to recharge the batteries. however, extroverts will tend towards spending time with people as part of their re-energizing time.

    I often go to movies & cafés alone. partly because I like alone time & partly because I can’t always find someone with a matching schedule… 🙂

  • Lalalian

    I came across this TED Talk on introverts a couple of weeks ago… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0KYU2j0TM4&sns=em

  • Lori Crouch Vernon

    Have you ever taken the Meyer’s Briggs test? Or it’s also called Kiersy temperment?They say that one subset of the extrovert group (the ENFP) needs alone time more than other extroverts… “Unlike other Extraverted types, ENFPs need time alone to center themselves, and make sure they are moving in a direction which is in sync with their values.” (http://www.personalitypage.com/ENFP.html)
    I’m an ENFP and find this very true for me! Wonder if you are too? Or maybe you’re just a fence sitter and get the best of both worlds!

  • Greta

    I consider myself an extroverted introvert…and it sounds like you’re exactly the same way. 🙂

Leave a comment