A very magical, very normal moment of clarity

It was 8:30am and I still sat in bed with just my undies and a tank top on.

The curtains were drawn wide, the windows open – floor to ceiling luvers – tons of light pouring in. Slight breeze.

Chris Chabot played on the little stereo on our bedhead just next to a cup of fresh coffee.

Judah was next to me, giggling and chatting. Levi was climbing on and off the bed – playing with Judah, saying “watch mommy” as he showed me whatever impressive feat he was trying out next and intermittently giving spontaneous hugs and kisses to little brother.

I was still sleepy but I was so, so happy.

There wasn’t anything magical about those moments… not magical in the “wow” sense of the word at least. But magical in the it’s-beautiful-just-as-it-is-in-this-very-normal-moment sort of way.

“I’m so glad to be a stay-at-home-mom,” I thought to myself.

Lately I’ve been having lots of moments that are very much, um, how shall I say…? opposite to that.

But as babies have been getting healthier and I have been getting a little more sleep… the demands of my “job” haven’t seemed as draining as tehy sometimes do.

And this morning I was remembering what an incredible privilege I have to be home wiht my boys instead of in an office somewhere. As hard as 24/7 childcare can sometimes feel (and it’s so much more than “childcare” – yes, I know that), it’s also so wonderfully rich and rewarding… and fun.

As long as we can stop for little moments and remember to breathe deeply and appreciate it for what it is.

Which was Exactly what I was doing htis morning.

STOP.

 

Q for you: When is the last time you took a moment to be grateful for your job?

 

Love,
A

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited

About Adriel Booker

Author, speaker, advocate, and non-prof director. Happily married city-lover, mother, immigrant, and emoji enthusiast in a city by the sea. ✌️ View all posts by Adriel Booker

6 responses to “A very magical, very normal moment of clarity

  • Gwen

    me too!!! and wow, that drill was a hit … 🙂

  • Jessica

    Oh, this is such a sweet post! I feel the same way. I truly wouldn’t trade this job for any other in the world. I feel so blessed, so honored that this is my reality, that I can enjoy my children in all their beautiful and, sometimes, tough moments. I enjoy teaching them, laughing with them, loving them, watching them, being present with them. Stay at home mom-ing isn’t for everyone, but it’s for me.

    • Adriel Booker

      me too! lately it’s been hard so i’ve needed some of these moments to remind me how awesome and worth it it all is!!

  • alicialabeau

    Simon’s grandma took him home Easter night and kept him for a couple of days. It was so painful as I watched that big piece of my heart back out of the driveway and those days he was away I hardly knew what to do with myself. It reminded me that no matter what is going on in life, this season when he is so young and I get to be home teaching, influencing, and watching him grow is so precious. Even in the hard moments. And the huge grin and squealing reception we got when we showed up to get him made me grateful for my job all over again.

    • Adriel Booker

      man, it’s good to have those reminders, isn’t it?? yay for awesome grandmas!! we’re so blessed to be home with out littles.

Leave a comment