Writing behind the scenes

There are so many reasons I write.

I love the creative aspect of writing. I love the way my brain works when I’m on the keyboard.

I love words. And rhythm. And piecing ideas together.

I love trying to make something–art or instruction–that is beautiful or enjoyable or sometiemes just plain useful to someone.

What many people don’t know is that I probably write offline far more than I write online. And between my six–yes six–blogs, I write a lot. (Only three of those blogs are public, mind you.)

BUt actually, much of my writing happens in emails. Just good old fashioned one-on-one, person-to-person emails. (“Old fashioned” – heh heh.)

Almost daily I get an email from someone who is asking for advice or prayer or encouragement, or who simply wants to share (and be affirmed in) an experience. Many of them are old students of mine. Some are friends, or friends of friends. Some I’ve met through blogging. And some seem to appear out of nowhere.

it’s an incredible opportunity to use what I love (writing) to be a blessing.

I don’t get paid for it. I don’t get famous from it. I don’t have anything to show for it.

But I love it.

Why? Because it’s tangible. I know I can help people… and I want to.

Yes, I can share my (at times limited) life and experiences… but more importantly I can point them to God, the One who gives life.

it’s a very private ministry, and extremely hard to quantify, but it’s a very valid one too.

The only problem comes when people ask me “what do I do?” (as in my work). I sometimes stumble over this question and usually just say I’m a stay-at-home-mom (plenty of work right there, folks!) and a part-time teacher. (Which is true.)

“Oh, and I write” I sometimes throw in there.

But mostly? Mostly I’m just me. Without a title. Trying my best to use what God’s given me to help out the next girl.

STOP.

 

Q for you: Is your “work” easily quantifiable?

 

Love,
A

p.s. I’m not always able to do it straight away, but I always try to make time to respond to emails and private messages.

p.s.s. I just realized that I was talking about emails as if they’re not online. Haha, oops. I suppose I should’ve talked about “public and private” instead of just on/off-line writing. I guess that’s what I get for writing without much forethought and with no editing! 🙂

 

Click Clink Five | Five minutes a day, unedited

About Adriel Booker

Author, speaker, advocate, and non-prof director. Happily married city-lover, mother, immigrant, and emoji enthusiast in a city by the sea. ✌️ View all posts by Adriel Booker

8 responses to “Writing behind the scenes

  • Rachel

    Hi Adriel… I just wanted u to know your wonderful writings make my day… So hard being a sahm but reading ur blogs each day gives me the strength and encouragement quite often needed! U have an amazing gift being able to write you should b famous!!! Thank u so much xx

    • Adriel Booker

      you are very sweet rachel! thank you for your encouragement. i’m so grateful that i can add a little something to your day! 🙂

  • Jessica (@mommyhoodnxtrt)

    I adore this post. You are a great writer. I write a lot, too. I write online and offline because I share different parts of myself and my journey in these two places. But, I’m finding it hard to find the time to keep up with it all. I am learning to prioritize, but it’s still tough.

    • Adriel Booker

      yeah, i don’t write nearly as much as i’d like to. i have about 7-10 posts (for the memos) that are 90% finished but just need editing. i find the writing much easier, and the editing time-consuming because i always want to make sure it’s “just right”. don’t want to be misunderstood, ya know? sometimes i edit a million times and stress over it, especially if i think it might be a sensitive topic (which many areas of parenting are!!). i think that’s why i like this little blog so much. i just do the fun part – the writing. 🙂

  • join me for a cuppa | waiting and flying - The Mommyhood Memos

    […] Writing behind the scenes | The ministry of writing […]

  • Branson

    SIX blogs? lol You really are ambitious 😉

    I am a big fan of emails as well… I do feel quite often that God has given me an interesting opportunity to reach out during this time when I am often “stuck” at home. I love that I can encourage and share with women all over the world, and I get so much out of those relationships!

    • Adriel Booker

      i wouldn’t say ambitious! just segregated! i have our family one for personal stuff and ministry updates, a personal one (not public), one for each kid that i write monthly letters (also not public), and then my two others that you follow. makes sense, right? 😉

      you are a huge encouragement branson. keep ministering encouragement! it’s such a gift!!

Leave a comment